Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 OR 15(d)

of The Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported):

April 16, 2014 (April 15, 2014)




(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




Delaware   1-33007   20-5413139

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)


5400 Westheimer Court, Houston, Texas   77056
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code 713-627-5400


(Former name or former address, if changed since last report.)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions (see General Instruction A.2. below):


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.03. Amendments to Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws; Change in Fiscal Year.

Effective April 15, 2014, the Board of Directors (the “Board”) of Spectra Energy Corp (the “Company”) approved the amendment and restatement of the Company’s By-Laws. The amended and restated By-Laws include the following amendments:

Section 2.03 was amended to clarify that the notice requirements contained in that section shall be deemed satisfied by a shareholder if the shareholder has notified the Company of his or her intention to present a proposal at an annual meeting in accordance with Rule 14a-8 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, subject to other conditions contained in Section 2.03 of the By-Laws. Section 3.01 was amended to fix the size of the Board at 10 members. Previously, the number of directors was fixed at 12.

Also, Section 3.02 was amended to update the information and disclosure requirements for advance notice of director nominations by a shareholder, including, among other things, the requirement to disclose (i) ownership of capital stock of the Company (including derivative and synthetic forms of ownerships); (ii) any proxy, agreement, arrangement or understanding under which a proposing shareholder has a right to vote any capital stock of the Company; (iii) “acting in concert” relationships or affiliations; (iv) any agreement, arrangement or understanding with a proposed nominee or the nominee’s affiliates regarding compensation; and (iv) other material relationships with a proposed nominee or the nominee’s affiliates.

Finally, the By-Laws were amended to add a new Section 8.05, which includes a forum selection provision. The provision generally provides that unless the Company consents in writing to the selection of an alternate forum, a state or federal court located within the State of Delaware shall be the sole and exclusive forum for: (i) any derivative action or proceeding brought on behalf of the Company; (ii) any action asserting a claim of breach of fiduciary duty owed by any director, officer or other employee of the Company to the Company or the Company’s shareholders; (iii) any action asserting a claim arising pursuant to any provision of the Delaware General Corporation Law; or (iv) any action asserting a claim governed by the internal affairs doctrine.

The foregoing description of the amendments to the By-Laws is qualified in its entirety by reference to the text of the amended and restated By-Laws filed as Exhibit 3.1 to this Current Report on Form 8-K and is incorporated herein by reference.


Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

The Company held its annual meeting of shareholders on April 15, 2014. The shareholders (i) elected all of the Company’s nominees for directors; (ii) ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for fiscal year 2014; and (iii) approved compensation of the Company’s named executive officers on an advisory basis. The shareholders did not approve any of the shareholder proposals, which are listed below.



   For      Against      Abstain      Non-Votes  

Gregory L. Ebel

     437,892,936         2,874,517         1,241,594         114,242,891   

Austin A. Adams

     435,479,243         5,209,910         1,319,894         114,242,891   

Joseph Alvarado

     437,978,435         2,737,798         1,292,814         114,242,891   

Pamela L. Carter

     435,858,933         4,824,661         1,325,453         114,242,891   

Clarence P. Cazalot Jr.

     437,566,333         3,020,350         1,422,364         114,242,891   

F. Anthony Comper

     437,822,502         2,844,414         1,342,131         114,242,891   

Peter B. Hamilton

     435,753,864         4,906,568         1,348,615         114,242,891   

Michael McShane

     434,801,998         5,851,950         1,355,099         114,242,891   

Michael G. Morris

     408,414,835         32,006,450         1,587,762         114,242,891   

Michael E. J. Phelps

     438,110,992         2,610,148         1,287,907         114,242,891   

Proposal 2

   For      Against      Abstain      Non-Votes  

Ratification of Deloitte & Touche LLP as Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm for 2014

     550,725,492         3,924,973         1,601,473      

Proposal 3

   For      Against      Abstain      Non-Votes  

Approval of an advisory vote on executive compensation

     422,664,329         13,056,941         6,287,777         114,242,891   

Proposal 4

   For      Against      Abstain      Non-Votes  

Shareholder Proposal - Political Contributions

     117,231,931         278,308,759         46,468,357         114,242,891   

Proposal 5

   For      Against      Abstain      Non-Votes  

Shareholder Proposal - Fugitive Methane Emissions Target

     115,424,262         275,974,647         50,610,138         114,242,891   


Item 8.01. Other Events.

On April 15, 2014, the Board appointed Gregory L. Ebel as Chairman of the Board. Mr. Ebel will continue in his role as the Company’s President and Chief Executive Officer. Also on April 15, 2014, the Board appointed F. Anthony Comper as the Board’s independent Lead Director. Both appointments were effective on April 15, 2014. A copy of the Company’s press release announcing the appointments is attached to this Current Report on Form 8-K as Exhibit 99.1.


Item 9.01. Financial Statements and Exhibits.


(d) Exhibits.


  3.1    The By-laws of Spectra Energy Corp, as amended and restated on April 15, 2014
99.1    Press Release of Spectra Energy Corp dated April 15, 2014


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.



/s/ Patricia M. Rice

Patricia M. Rice
Vice President and Secretary

Date: April 16, 2014






  3.1    The By-Laws of Spectra Energy Corp, as amended and restated on April 15, 2014
99.1    Press Release of Spectra Energy Corp dated April 15, 2014