Form 8-K





Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)

of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): April 19, 2018



The New York Times Company

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




New York   1-5837   13-1102020
(State or other jurisdiction
of incorporation)
File Number)
  (I.R.S. Employer
Identification No.)


620 Eighth Avenue, New York, New York   10018
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (212) 556-1234



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions (see General Instruction A.2. below):


Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is an emerging growth company as defined in Rule 405 of the Securities Act of 1933 (§230.405 of this chapter) or Rule 12b-2 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (§240.12b-2 of this chapter).

Emerging growth company  ☐

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act.  ☐




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders

The annual meeting of stockholders of The New York Times Company (the “Company”) was held on April 19, 2018. At the annual meeting, the Company’s stockholders voted on three proposals and cast their votes as follows:

Proposal Number 1 — Election of directors

The stockholders (with Class A and Class B common stockholders voting separately) elected all of management’s nominees for election as directors. The results of the vote taken were as follows:



   For      Withheld      Broker

(Vote results of Class A common stockholders)



Robert E. Denham

     138,427,384        1,114,410        13,528,960  

Rachel Glaser

     139,367,545        174,249        13,528,960  

John W. Rogers, Jr.

     138,415,183        1,126,611        13,528,960  

Rebecca Van Dyck

     138,695,290        846,504        13,528,960  

(Vote results of Class B common stockholders)



Hays N. Golden

     758,071        0        12,082  

Steven B. Green

     758,071        0        12,082  

Joichi Ito

     758,071        0        12,082  

James A. Kohlberg

     758,071        0        12,082  

Brian P. McAndrews

     758,071        0        12,082  

A.G. Sulzberger

     758,071        0        12,082  

Arthur Sulzberger, Jr.

     753,731        4,340        12,082  

Mark Thompson

     758,071        0        12,082  

Doreen A. Toben

     758,071        0        12,082  

Proposal Number 2 — Advisory vote to approve executive compensation

The Class B common stockholders approved the advisory resolution on the compensation of the Company’s named executive officers. The results of the vote taken were as follows:








Broker Non-Vote


  4,340   1,245   12,082

Proposal Number 3 — Ratification of the selection of Ernst & Young LLP as auditors

The stockholders (with Class A and Class B common stockholders voting together) ratified the selection, by the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors, of Ernst & Young LLP, an independent registered public accounting firm, as auditors of the Company for the fiscal year ending December 30, 2018. The results of the vote taken were as follows:








Broker Non-Vote


  673,827   144,654   Not applicable


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.



Date: April 19, 2018


/s/ Diane Brayton

          Diane Brayton
          Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary